beauty · blogger tips · everyday · high street · tips/tricks

How I Spot Clean My Brushes

Hello, my Loves!

It’s all fine and well for us all to have an ever growing collection of make-brushes (Real Techniques are my personal favourites), but we all have the same hatred to when it comes to washing them. I always try my best to give my brushes a deep cleanse each week, but I often spot clean my brushes every 2 to 3 days, as the amount of product build up grosses me out.

To do so I use the Brush Techniques Makeup Brush Cleansing Spray, which is sadly only available to those who live in the UK, to which you will find it in your nearest Home Bargain, for the affordable price of £1!

IMG_0331

The brand highlights the fact that it should be an important part of your beauty routine to cleanse your makeup brushes, as they can harbour dirt, oils, bacteria, dead skin cells and makeup, which can cause spots and infection on your skin. Ew!

The spray helps to disinfect and clean all types of brushes, whether they may be made from synthetic or natural hairs, in order to keep your skin healthy and to keep the brush hairs in great shape. As I only spot clean my brushes, I do not dampen my brushes first, like the brand suggests you do.

Now onto how I incorporate the spray into my routine!

  1. I spritz the cleanser directly onto the brush hairs and swirl the brush into a cotton pad, in order to keep things hygienic, as once I’m done with my cotton pads I just throw them away.
  2. If there is still product left on my brush, I will quite simply repeat step 1, until the brush is clean and no more product is being transferred onto the cotton pad.
  3. Finally, I reshape the brush hairs and leave my brushes on a flannel whilst they dry, which usually takes been 10 to 15 minutes, and then they are ready to use again.

 

(Before the Cleanse)

IMG_0326IMG_0328

(After the Cleanse)

IMG_0327IMG_0330

Yes, it really is a simple as 3 easy steps!

I hope you all found this post helpful, and I’d love to know your handy tips and tricks when it comes to spot cleaning your products.

Thank-you for reading

 lots of love

Hannah

XOXO

 

One thought on “How I Spot Clean My Brushes

Leave a Reply

